On the iPod…

So I’m listening to a podcast (the Church will remain nameless for now, but it’s a big one in Texas – and not a particularly wacky one). I occasionally subscribe to a new podcast to see what is going on in the church.

And before the sermon, the worship leader is singing a song. And I’m thinking – this is a really good song. I could listen to it over and over. I loved it. In fact, the only thing that I didn’t like about it was that it purported to be a song about Jesus. It would have fit in perfectly on the radio as a modern rock love ballad. But when you tried to imagine Jesus as the object of the song’s lyrics, it was just ridiculous.

If you’ve read my blog before, you know that I’m not especially conservative when it comes to music. I openly proclaim that I enjoy secular music, loud music – and modern worship music. But this is an example of taking it too far. I love a worship song with a modern arrangement, but if it is a song about Jesus, don’t make it sound like you’re singing about some girl you just met.

Leave a Reply

