Ten Things I’ve Learned By Reading Watchblogs

  1. I’ve learned that saying “crap” is a really bad sin, but calling someone an “idiot” or a “fool” is OK.
  2. I’ve learned that if Preacher A, who has very sound theology, speaks at the same conference, endorses the same book, or shops at the same supermarket as Preacher B, who has less than good theology, you can disallow everything Preacher A has ever said or written because he is a heretic.
  3. I’ve learned that if someone quotes the Beatles in one of his sermons, he has committed a sin akin to blaspheming the Holy Spirit.
  4. I’ve learned that drums are evil – very, very evil.
  5. I’ve learned that if you attend a “large” church, then you aren’t hearing the Gospel preached.
  6. I’ve learned that you have to know and understand a lot of stuff in order to become a Christian.
  7. I’ve learned that if someone talks to much about prayer, he is probably involved in some sort of “contemplative spirituality.” (And that’s very bad.)
  8. I’ve learned that you really can be right about everything all of the time.
  9. I’ve learned that you shouldn’t share your faith because you might leave out some part of the Berkhof’s Systematic Theology, and if you don’t share the whole thing, you’ve done more harm than good. And finally…
  10. I’ve learned why so many non-Christians have such a bad impression of Christians, and want nothing to do with conservative Christianity.
2 Responses

  1. Ha! so true.

  2. Hi Kevin! Just found you through Christian Blogosphere postings, and have to say I truly appreciate you post today. Unfortunately . . . . . I’ll be back to read future musings from you point of view. Would be fun to compare notes, sometime. :o) Nina
    http://mamaslittletreasures.typepad.com/waitingforgrace/

Leave a Reply

