Bible Inventory

I counted Bibles at the Reluctant Puritan household today. It’s an interesting experience that today’s Christian should do from time to time. Here is the inventory (not counting any sort of children’s Bible story books).

ESV deluxe leather bound edition – 1 (this is my primary bible that I read and take to Church)

ESV compact Tru Tone edition – 2 (my wife’s primary reading Bible and my travel Bible)

NASB Study Bible (Zondervan edition) – 1 (my Church uses the NASB, but I prefer the ESV, due to, in my opinion, equal translation quality and a better treatment of the English language)

MacArthur NASB Study Bible – 1

NASB compact edition – 1

NASB Paperback – 1

NIV Study Bible – 2 (come on, you used to use this one too)

NIV Compact Bibles – 2

NIV Spiritual Renewal Bible – 1

The Message – 1

The Living Bible – 1

The Amplified Bible – 1

NASB-NIV-Greek Parallel – 1

And that’s just the print versions. I have on my Logos Bible software, the Darby, BHS, AV, ESV, GNT, HCSB, ISV, NA27, NET, NASB, NCV, NIV, NKJV, KJV, NRSV, NLT, RSV, LXX, and YLT.

I use the ESV for reading and memorization, my church uses the NASB, and I find that when I am studying with my Bible software, I generally like to also check the NET because of the extensive footnoting (though the flow of the English language in the translation leaves something to be desired).

So for the two adults in my household, we have about 16 print editions of the Bible. And if someone asked me, “why?”, I wouldn’t really know what to say. I mean I can probably explain a need for about four of them, maybe five. But why so many?

It was really a lot simpler when I was growing up. I mean, then, everyone in the family would each have one Bible, there would be one very large “Family Bible, and everyone used the same version (at least in fundamentalist Baptist churches).

It’s really weird now. Today, we have specialty Bibles for every purpose. We have devotional Bibles, study Bibles, One-Year reading Bibles, Men’s Bibles, Women’s Bibles, Teen Bibles, Weight-loss Bibles, Bibles for Camping, Bibles you can read under water, Biblezines with great articles on how you can impress the opposite sex. And every publishing house has their own translation (at least one). I’m not going to link to all of them, but I’m really not exaggerating

To me, it all smacks of consumerism. I’m so thankful we have the Bible in English, but have we carried on a bit too far?

5 Responses

  1. I’m glad He did! πŸ™‚

  2. You guys have sharp eyes. I actually do not own a print copy of the KJV. Pretty surprising for a Fundamentalist Baptist boy, huh?

    The only KJV I’ve ever owned was the one my parents gave me when I was in grammer school. It had a light blue zipper cover. Didn’t use the Bible much in high school or the first couple of years in college, and I’m not quite sure what happened to that Bible.

    The first Bible I ever bought for myself was the NIV Study Bible when I was a junior in college. I still have it today, and it was that Bible that God used to finally get through to me.

  3. Matt, I noticed that right off the bat! I was just waiting for someone else to say it. πŸ™‚ LOL

    I’ve been to busy to count just yet, but I’d venture to say the number and variety of versions in our house rivals Kevin’s.

  4. Where is your KJV?!? You don’t have the actual Word if it’s not KJV!

  5. No pocket-size Gideon green Bibles? I’m disappointed. Those are the perfect size for throwing at homeless people as you drive by them on the street corner. You can soothe your conscience and save 5 dollars, all in one felled swoop.

    It’s a win-win situation.

    Going way too far,
    Brother Hank

Leave a Reply

