Dear God, Please Make Me Batman…

A half year or so ago I overheard my then three year old son utter what I believe was the very first prayer he ever said on his own. “Dear God, please make me Batman.”

I smiled at the the the innocence of the request. In my son’s mind, there was no doubt that he would be Batman when he grew up. But as I thought more about this simple prayer I was impressed by the boldness and the complete faith imbedded in my son. And it occurred to me that perhaps we spend too much time praying for health and jobs and security and not enough time praying to become a hero in our faith.

I don’t want to suggest that we pray a “magical formula” prayer to “enlarge our territory” but in my life, at least, I spend far too much time praying for God to give me stuff and give my people stuff and far too little time praying that God would use me in a powerful way to advance His Kingdom.

In Matthew 21:22, Jesus states, “And whatever you ask in prayer, you will receive, if you have faith.” It is a promise that if you seek God’s will and desire it for your life, God will grant your prayer to be a hero for the faith.

John MacArthur writes in his commentary on Matthew:

When the church is impotent, as so much of it is today, it is because so many Christians are impotent. And Christians are impotent because they are not persistent in praying for what God wants, believing He will provide it. God desires His children to ask and keep asking, to seek and keep seeking, to knock and keep knocking, and it is through that persistence that He promises to bless. He guarantees that they will always receive, always find, and always have the door opened to them.

It is a noble prayer, indeed, to want to be a hero. “Dear God, please make me Batman.” Me too, Lord, me too…

Leave a Reply

