Back from Kazakhstan

I made it back home last night (after a four hour delay in Munich). This was the second time that I’ve been to Kazakhstan (I was there on Sept. 11, 2001). It’s really changed a lot in four years. It’s much more friendly to foreigners, and was a lot easier to get in and out of.

I got a chance to spend an afternoon and evening in Almaty, the country’s largest city. I thought it was a beautiful city. My church (NorthCreek Church) regularly ministers in Almaty, and hopefully I will get an opportunity to go back on a short term mission in the future at some point.

But I spent most of the week in Western Kazakhstan a couple of hundred miles South of Atyrau. It’s pretty bleak out there, and I couldn’t shake the feeling that I was in a Mad Max movie.

It was a long time in airplanes, and I’d like to thank Phil Johnson, Adrian Warnock, Peter Bogert, Bill Streger, and Paul Lamey for providing sermons for my iPod (via their Church websites) for the journey. I was encouraged and blessed by all of you.

Leave a Reply

