Who Am I?

I fear that I have been somewhat remiss in my manners. I am now entering my third month of blogging, and I haven’t properly introduced myself. My name is Kevin Jones, I am husband to Julie and father to Gareth and Elsie.

I grew up in a small (fewer than 50 people) fundamentalist Baptist church of the Landmark tradition (BMAA). I accepted Jesus as savior at a young age, and yet my Christianity was never really the driving force in my life until I went away to college. I became involved in the college group at the First Baptist Church of Davis (CBA), and really started to grow in my relationship with the Lord.

After college, I moved to Walnut Creek, CA and became involved at the Evangelical Free Church of Walnut Creek (now NorthCreek Church), and eventually was privileged to serve as a leader of one of the finest young singles groups (20Something) in the Bay Area.

I’ve been married just over eight years now. We had difficulty having children and lost twins midway through the pregnancy just over four years ago. But we’ve recently been blessed with two wonderful children. Gareth has recently turned three and Elsie is nearly 10 months.

I have a Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering, though I haven’t really worked as an engineer. I graduated in a recession and the only job I could get was as a Fire Protection engineer analyzing risks for an insurance company. It turned out to be a good career path though the insurance industry has been good to me. I received my MBA in 2001 and went to work in a senior staff position with the Risk Management Department of a Fortune 10 company.

A few random facts:

Sports:

  • I am a 49ers fan. That was a source of pride for a long time, but there hasn’t been much to celebrate lately.
  • I consider myself to be an average athlete. And by average I mean that in pure physical areas like strength and speed, I am probably above average. But anything that deals with skills and coordination (throwing, catching, hitting small balls with long sticks), I am well below average.
  • I have recently reinvigorated my passion for Mountain Biking and cycling in general. Though my mountain bike rides are now relegated to early Saturday (and some Friday) mornings.

Other Facts:

  • I’m a Star Trek fan. I spent way to many hours as a kid watching TV, and Star Trek was always a favorite.
  • I love to read and love books. I try to read one or two books each month.
  • I haven’t always been reformed in my Soteriology (as my Landmark Baptist upbringing probably reveals), but through reading the Puritans, and modern authors such as John Piper, James White, John MacArthur, R.C. Sproul, and others, I have come to an understanding and love for the Doctrines of Grace.

Well that’s about it for now. Thanks to you who have stopped by my site and especially to those of you who have added me to your blogrolls. I am blessed to be able to get to know you.

soli Deo gloria

Leave a Reply

