Living and Active…

I love the Bible.

When you think about it, that’s kind of an odd thing for an evangelical Christian to say. I mean, of course I love the Bible. I love Jesus, I love my Church, and I love the Bible. It’s expected, it’s implied, it’s understood.

But I can’t say, in all honesty, that I’ve always felt that way. Oh, I’ve flirted with the Bible. I’ve acknowledged its importance, I’ve studied it, I’ve respected it, I’ve even revered it. But I haven’t really loved it. But in the past year, I’ve fallen deeply in love with the Word of God because it is indeed God’s revealed message to us – to me.

There is a lot of subjectivity in the evangelical world today. I can’t help but find it odd that so many people view Scripture in light of their emotions and experience rather than view their emotions and experience through the lens of Scripture. The Bible is God’s direct revelation to us (2 Timothy 3:16).

My pastor Jon McNeff has been teaching about the Bible for the past couple of weeks and it has really reinforced the power of the Word to me. It has reminded me of the deep and powerful work that God has done in me, and encouraged me to continue to seek passionately after God’s will that is revealed in His Word.

soli Deo gloria

Leave a Reply

